The Council for Tribal Employment Rights

2021 National TERO Convention

"Job Opportunities & Career Changes"

The impacts of Covid in the recovery process

2021 Agenda

August 10th – August 13th 2021

Coeur d'Alene Casino Resort & Hotel

37914 S Nukwalqw, Worley ID 83876

Alaska Region

Kawerak, Inc.
Kenaitze Indian Tribe
Organized Village of Kake
Orutsararmiut Native Council
Sitka Tribe of Alaska
Tanana Chiefs Conference
Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of AK

Eastern Region

Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians Seneca Nation of New York

Great Lakes Region

Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians

Northern Plains Region

Rosebud Sioux Tribe Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate Standing Rock Sioux Tribe Three Affiliated Tribes, MHA Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians Yankton Sioux Tribe

Pacific Northwest Region

Bishop Paiute Tribe
Confederated Tribes of Colville Reservation
Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde
Hoh Tribe
Karuk Tribe
Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe
Lummi Indian Business Council
Makah Tribe
Nez Perce Tribe
Nisqually Indian Tribe
Puyallup Tribe of Indians
Confederated Tribes of the Siletz Indians
Spokane Tribe of Indians
Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indians
Yakama Nation

Rocky Mountain Region

Chippewa Cree Tribe Crow Tribe Eastern Shoshone and Northern Arapaho Tribe Ute Indian Tribe, Utah

Southern Plains Region

Southwest Region

Big Pine Paiute Tribe of Owens Valley Colorado River Indian Tribes Hualapai Tribe San Carlos Apache Tribe

Monday, August 9th

8:00 – 12:00 pm Board Meeting

1:00 pm Golf Tournament – Circling Raven Golf Course

Jim Nilson, Coeur d'Alene TERO Director

3:30 – 5:30 pm Early Convention Registration – Special raffle for those who check in at this time

Tuesday, August 10th

7:00 am Convention Registration

7:00 – 8:30 am Continental Breakfast – Sponsor TBD

8:30 am 1st General Assembly

Grand Entry / Posting of Colors: Colville Tribes Veterans Program

Singers - Host Drum: Keller Condon Drumming Group

Invocation: Spiritual Leader: Norma Jean Louie; Traditional Culture Affairs Director

Convention Welcome:

CTER - B.O.D

CTER President: Lee Adolph

Official Welcome: Ernie Stensger; Chairman Coeur d'Alene Tribe

Welcome to Coeur d'Alene Resort: Quannah Matheson

9:00 am CTER Historical Perspective: John Navarro: Co–Founder of CTER

10:00 am Keynote Speaker: Charlotte Burrows; EEOC Chair

11:00 am Keynote Speaker: Keith Sonderling; EEOC Commissioner

12:00 pm Lunch on your own

1:30 pm Breakout Sessions (Concurrent Sessions)

Workgroup 1 - MOU / Suicide Prevention: Christina Riley; NW Region - LIUNA

Workgroup 2 – TERO Taxation: Mary Mashunkashey; President National Intertribal Tax Alliance

Workgroup 3 – BNB Construction: Carl Moses

Workgroup 4 – Partnership with Unions

• Laborers Union: Lance Ragan

• Carpenters Union: Jim Wallace

Workgroup 5 – Synergy Partnership: John Navarro

Workgroup 6 - Vocational Rehab / 477 program: (TBA)

2:45 - 3:00 pm Break (15 minutes)

3:00 pm	Breakout Sessions (Concurrent Sessions)
	Workgroup 1 – MOU / Suicide Prevention: Christina Riley; NW Region - LIUNA
	Workgroup 2 – TERO Taxation: Mary Mashumkashey; President. National Intertribal Tax Alliance
	Workgroup 3 – BNB Construction: Carl Moses
	Workgroup 4 – Partnership with Unions Laborers Union :Lance RaganCarpenters Union: Jim Wallace
	Workgroup 5 – Synergy Partnership: John Navarro
	Workgroup 6 – Vocational Rehab / 477 Program: (TBA)
4:15 pm	Recess for the day
6:00 pm	Welcome Feast & Honoring Ceremony
	Host Drum – Keller Condon Drumming Group Feast & Dinner Blessing – Norma Jean Louie: Traditional Culture Affairs Director Host Tribe Welcome – The Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation TERO Memorial & Honoring Ceremony: Lee Adolph CTER President Honor Song: Keller Condon Drumming Group
8:30 pm	Close Evening Program
Notes:	

Wednesday, August 11th

7:00 am	Convention Registration
7:00 – 8:30 am	Continental Breakfast – Sponsor TBD
8:30 am	2 nd General Assembly
	Invocation: George Montero
9:00 am	Keynote Speaker: Leonard Forsman; President Affiliated Tribes Northwest Indians
10:00 am	Keynote Speaker: Theresa Lujan; OFCCP Director, Indian and Native American Employment Rights Program
11:00 am	Keynote Speaker: Cheryl Mabry; EEOC Director-State, Local and Tribal Programs
12:00 pm	Lunch on your own
1:00 pm	Breakout Sessions (Concurrent Sessions)
	Workgroup 1 – TERO Directors: DelRay German; Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate Tribe
	Workgroup 2 – TERO Compliance Officers: Melvin Wheeler, Laatis Lawrence and Calvin Allen; Nez Perce Tribe
	Workgroup 3 – Pre-Construction Meetings: Hutch Noline; San Carlos Apache Tribe
	Workgroup 4 – TERO Commissioners: Curtis Wildcat; CTER Associate
	Workgroup 5 – TERO Administrative Process: Theo De La Rosa; Colorado River Tribes
2:30 – 2:45 pm	Break (15 minutes)
2:45 pm	Breakout Sessions (Concurrent Sessions)
	Workgroup 1 – TERO Directors: DelRay German; Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate Tribe
	Workgroup 2 – TERO Compliance / TOSHA Saftey: Denell Broncho and Rick Edmo; Sho-Ban TERO
	Workgroup 3 – Pre-Construction Meetings: Hutch Noline; San Carlos Apache Tribe
	Workgroup 4 – TERO Commissioners: Curtis Wildcat; CTER Associate
	Workgroup 5 – TERO Administrative Process: Ms Theo De La Rosa; Colorado River Tribes
4:15 pm	Recess for the day
6:00 pm	Walk & Fun Run: T-Shirts sponsored by Womer & Associates

Thursday, August 12th

7:00 am Convention Registration 7:00 - 8:30 am Continental Breakfast Sponsor (TBA) 3rd General Assembly 8:30 am Invocation: Melvin J. Wheeler Sr. Nez Perce Tribe Announcements: CTER 9:00 am Keynote Speaker: Dan Press; CTER General Counsel: Generational Trauma 10:00 am Keynote Speaker: Michael Baldonado; CTER General Counsel: Workforce Protection Act 11:00 am Keynote Speaker: Bob Abbott; Vic President& Regional Manager, NW Region LIUNA 12:00 pm Lunch on your own 1:00 pm Breakout Sessions (concurrent Sessions) Workgroup 1 – Scott German: Wood Stone Jacolby Simpson: Womer & Associates Workgroup 2 – Crystal Pierce: Procurement Technical Assistance Center (PTAC) Vanessa Gleich: American Indian Chamber Education Fund PTAC Workgroup 3 – Margo Locust: Floor Covering Education Foundation Kaye Whitener: Floor Covering Education Foundation Workgroup 4 – Daucey Brewington: Two Rivers Consulting Workgroup 5 - Indian Preference Law: Bernice Delorme; Attorney of Law 2:30 - 2:45 pmBreak (15 minutes) Workgroup 1 – Scott German: Wood Stone Jacolby Simpson: Womer & Associates Workgroup 2 – Crystal Pierce: Procurement Technical Assistance Center (PTAC) Vanessa Gleich: American Indian Chamber Education Fund PTAC Workgroup 3 – Margo Locust: Floor Covering Education Foundation Kaye Whitener: Floor Covering Education Foundation Workgroup 4 – Daucey Brewington: Two Rivers Consulting Workgroup 5 – Indian Preference Law: Bernice Delorme; Attorney of Law: 4:45 pm Recess for the day 6:00 pm 2021 CTER Convention Awards / Recognition Banquet Outstanding TERO awards

& Special Recognition TERO Program, Staff, Commission & Director of the year

Friday, August 13th

7:30 am	Continental Breakfast – Sponsor TBD
8:30 am	4 th General Assembly
	Invocation: Tamara Strong: Yakama Nation Announcements: CTER
9:00 am	Keynote Speaker: Andrea Clifford; Wyoming House of Representatives
10:00 am	Keynote Speaker: Tribal Leader's Panel open to all in attendance; Brian Porter
11:30 am	Closing Statements: Lee Adolph
11:30 am	Closing Prayer: Hutch Noline
	Retire Colors & Convention Adjournment: Singers – Host Drum: Keller Condon Drumming Group
12:00 pm	2021 CTER Convention Adjourns
Notes:	



Don't forget to plan for our Legal Update Conference Nov 30th – Dec 3rd, 2021 at The Orleans Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas,NV

Registration information will be posted on our website as it becomes available at www.councilfortribalemploymentrights.org

Thank you to our Sponsors!



Northwest Region Feel the Power



people · culture · design

